TH9 Attack Secret — Don’t Watch!

don't-look--banner

I finally feel like I am cracking (part of) the code on TH9 attacks.  I have been getting three stars against lower and mid level TH9 predictably with Penta attacks, but my heroes are still too junior (BK10, AQ11 – going to 12 as I type) for any of the golem attacks that involve driving deep in the base to kill the queen.  So, I’m getting there.

But one thing I think many TH9 attackers soon realize is that attacks here are significantly more complicated than they were at TH8.  I knew that would be true, but like so many other things in life it is something you have to experience to truly appreciate.

For those TH8 who are soon to make the leap to TH9, or for new TH9 who are still struggling to manage the complexity, I have discovered a simple tip that has significantly improved my attacks: I don’t watch the attack while I’m doing it.

That’s right, I don’t watch my attack, even while I’m doing it.  I look at the base for a long time before I attack, I know where I am going to drop my troops, and I imagine where they will flow.  Then, when I start the attack, I watch the troop bar.

 Try spending less time watching your attack and more time on your troop bar.

Don’t get me wrong, I look up from the troop bar from time to time to make sure things are going as planned.  If they’re not, then of course I adjust.  Once the troop bar is grey, then I allow myself to watch the attack.

I would say that, in general, I watch the troop bar 2 seconds for every second I spend watching the attack in the beginning.  Since I have started doing this, I have noticed that my troop deployment sequence is smoother and better timed.  I am not missing rages on my BK or cloaking on my AQ.  Maybe most importantly, watching my troop bar and glancing up is preventing me from trying to micro-manage my attack.  “Oh god!  That loon went the wrong way! [RAGE, HEAL, PANIC!]” and just like that many a previous attack has died because of a spastic reaction to a small event that I would have overcome anyway.  Focusing more on the troop bar has helped give me the patience to watch my plan develop on the field.  If it’s a good plan, your patience will normally be rewarded.

At TH7 and TH8, the dragon attacks can instill some bad habits.  One of them is having the luxury of deployments so simple they allow you to indulgently watch your attack unfold like a spectator.  This habit will ruin your TH9 attacks.  So, realizing that (no matter what Tyrion says) you cannot mind-control your loons towards the air defense whilst watching your attack, focus more on your troop bar – at least 50/50 until all your units are deployed and hero abilities have been used.  Your attacks may smooth out a lot more than you think.

Author: clashmustard

JTJ TH9 - One Tree reader for TH8 war attacks.

3 thoughts on “TH9 Attack Secret — Don’t Watch!”

  1. Interesting Colonel. I’ll buy that I get caught watching the paint dry more often than not. Also ensures nice timing on KQ ability. I guess in your pre-attack imagining you have to visualize the (1) sequence (2) deploy spots for a unit group and (3) timing in overall 3 minute window.

    Like

  2. Yes I think that’s exactly right. There are obviously some types of attacks that require more attention on the screen than others – hog attacks where you have an idea where you are going to place your heals, but you need to make sure they show up there and be ready to flex. I have found that by the time I have looked down at my troop bar, reminded myself what comes next, selected the unit, and looked back at the screen – it’s about 4 seconds, a near-perfect interval for the gaps in most attack sequences.

    By comparison, especially in the beginning, I wasn’t looking, I was watching. That’s the critical error.

    Like

  3. Brilliant! My last two attacks I spectated and was lucky to get 2 stars in each. I will bring this technique into my next war!

    Like

Leave a Reply

